Joe Kiefer

Joe Kiefer

District 1, View Bio




Bruce Ungethiem   

 District 2, View Bio



Stephen Melcher 

District 3, View Bio; Boards

Welcome to Vanderburgh County- the place we call home

The Commissioners are the executive branch of government for Vanderburgh County.  The three commissioners, Joe Kiefer, Bruce Ungethiem and Stephen Melcher live in different districts in the county and are elected countywide.  Districts 1 and 3 are elected in Presidential election years and District 2 is elected in Presidential mid-term election years.


You are invited to attend the commission meetings on Tuesdays at 5:00 PM in the Civic Center.  All Board of County Commissioners  meetings are open to the public.  Citizens are welcome to address the commissioners under the public comment section of the agenda. You are also invited to attend the county drainage board meetings which are immediately following the commissioners' meetings.  Click here to view the 2015 meeting schedule.


The Board of Commissioners makes many appointments to boards and commissions that assist us in the operations of county.  We are always interested in people who want to give of their time and talents to these positions so please contact us if you have any interest. 

Novia Health and Wellness Center for County Employees Hours of Operation:

Monday:                       7:30am - 6:00pm

Tuesday:                       8:30am - 5:30pm

Wednesday:                  7:00am - 6:00pm

Thursday:                      7:00am - 6:00pm  

Friday:                            7:30am - 4:30pm

you can schedule an appointment online at or by calling 888-417-1001


County Commissioners 2015 Meeting Dates                                       Agenda Request Form 

 The Commissioners meet at 5:00p.m. in room 301 of the Civic Center. Rezoning petitions are heard the first meeting of the month. Drainage board meets immediately following each Commission meeting, unless otherwise noted on that meeting's agenda.


Commission Meetings are available on our website in streaming audio and video. For instructions on how to use these features, click here. 


Vanderburgh County Employment Application


State Representative & State Senator Contact Information


Vanderburgh County Holiday Schedules 2015    2016    2017    2018  


Contact the Commissioners


Kristin Comer, Superintendent of County Buildings-

Erika Knight, Administrative Assistant-



Room 305 Civic Center Complex
1 NW Martin Luther King, Jr. Blvd.
Evansville IN 47708 





















































Free viewers are required for some of the attached documents.
They can be downloaded by clicking on the icons below.

Download Acrobat Reader Download Flash Player Download QuickTime Download Windows Media Player Download Microsoft Silverlight Download Word Viewer Download Excel Viewer Download PowerPoint Viewer
Last updated: 2/24/2015 3:49:17 PM