Adult Probation Department  




 Room 127, Administration Bldg

Civic Center Complex

1 NW Martin Luther King Jr Blvd   

 Evansville IN  47708

 Fax No. (812-435-1234)


Our mission statement reads: "To protect society through supervision of the offender."  The Adult Probation Department is operated through the Vanderburgh Circuit Court; however, this Department serves all County Courts.  Adult Probation is responsible for adult offenders who are sentenced directly to Probation from Court, as well as offenders returning from Correctional Facilities on split sentences.  Offenders may also be placed on Probation through modification of their sentence.  In addition, offenders' Probation may be transferred to and from another jurisdiction.  Community Transition Program (CTP) is a program offered for offenders who are granted an early release on community supervision from the Department of Corrections for a set period of time.

Adult Probation is comprised of twelve Probation Officers and a Chief Probation Officer, with a support staff.  Various services are provided to the Courts as well as to offenders.  Supervision, counseling classes, referral services, alcohol and drug monitoring are among the services provided for the offender.   The Department provides Pre-Sentence Investigations, offender reports as well as other ancillary functions for the Court.  Adult Probation's office hours:  8:00 a.m. till 4:00 p.m.

Probation Officers are required to have a college degree and pass a written certification administered by the Indiana Office of Court Services.   Applications for employment may be made at the Adult Probation Department, and should be accompanied by a resume.  The Adult Probation Department has one of the oldest intern programs in the State of Indiana, serving local colleges and universities, since 1968.  Students who are interested in obtaining an internship, whether for class credit or remuneration, should contact the Chief Probation Officer.  


Cherie Wood


Chief Probation Officer


Karla Claybrook Assistant Chief Probation Officer
Cameron Rizen PSI Probation Officer

Janice Wade


Probation Officer


Sheila Hamner


Probation Officer


Jamie Voges


Probation Officer


Larry McDowell                 Court Liaison Officer

Karen Angermeier    

Administrative Assistant    

Karen Durbin


Office Manager


Tonya Temple




 Lisa Buchenberger


 Pre-Sentence Investigator



Mignon Ware

Probation Officer- Supervisor


Warren Hale

Probation Officer


Beth Greenwell



Probation Officer



Megan Guerrero



Probation Officer



Tyson Will



Probation Officer


Melinda Littell 

Probation Officer

Brian Deardurff     Probation Officer
Kelly Mudd         Secretary/Receptionist

This Office support the efforts of the National APPA as well as Indiana's own P.O.P.A.I.

Last updated: 5/5/2017 8:15:47 AM